Quick Answer: Does Google Delete Old Email Accounts?

How long does Google keep deleted email accounts?

60 days”Google keeps multiple backup copies of users’ emails so that we can recover messages and restore accounts in case of errors or system failure, for some limited periods of time.

Residual copies of deleted messages and accounts may take up to 60 days to be deleted from our servers..

Can Gmail account be deleted automatically?

As of late 2017, Google does not automatically delete inactive Gmail accounts. The company reserves the right to delete accounts that remain inactive for an extended period of time but does not usually do so. Information on the Google Gmail account deletion policy is here for historical purposes.

Do email accounts expire?

Accounts are deactivated and removed after four months of no use. … In summary, unlogged-into Hotmail and Gmail accounts expire after nine months and unlogged-into Yahoo accounts expire after six (unless you pay for Yahoo! Mail Plus).

How can I tell if a Gmail account is still active?

Look for a Gmail link in the “My Products” section of your Google account. If the Gmail account has been deleted, you will not see a link to Gmail. If a link does appear in this section, the Gmail account is still active.

Do unused Gmail accounts expire?

According to a post by a software engineer on the Google Product Forum, a Gmail account does expire and will be deleted after approximately 9 months of inactivity. … This link at the bottom of every Gmail page shows you information about recent activity in your mail.

Does Google delete inactive accounts 2020?

Google never deletes accounts du to inactivity. … No, at this time Google will not deactivate Gmail accounts due to inactivity. Now users have the option to share parts of their account data or notify someone if they’ve been inactive for a certain period of time.

What happens to old unused email accounts?

After an account becomes inactive, all messages, folders, and contacts are deleted, but the account name is still reserved. If the account stays inactive for an additional 90 days, the account name may be permanently deleted.

What happens if you don’t use your Gmail account?

Your emails and mail settings will be deleted. You can no longer use your Gmail address to send or receive email. If you change your mind, you may be able to get your Gmail address back. Your Gmail address can’t be used by anyone else in the future.

What happens to deleted Gmail accounts?

Deleting a Gmail account is permanent. After going through the process, all of your emails and account settings will be erased. You will no longer be able to use your Gmail address to send or receive emails, and the address will not be made available for anyone else to use in the future.

How long until a Google account is deleted?

The default is three months of inactivity, but you can set it to wait for up to 18 months. Google says it will reach out one month before the time is up with emails and text messages before your account becomes officially inactive.

What happens to deleted email accounts?

If your account is restored, you will have access to your account, but all of your emails will be permanently deleted no matter what the time frame. Google states that it keeps backups of deleted accounts for around 60 days, though this time varies.